Subscribe now to our online e-Edition!  Call 816-230-5311 to subscribe - $6 per month, $50 annually.
 Odessa, Missouri Thursday, July 31, 2014 
PHOTO OF THE WEEK!       Subscribe       Classified Ads       Advertise with Us       Newspaper Rack Locations       Contact Us

The Odessan
212 W. Mason Street
P.O. Box 80
Odessa, MO 64076

Focus on Oak Grove
103 S.E. 12th Street
Oak Grove, MO 64075
Fax 816-690-7219

New to the area?
Pick up a free copy of our
at either of our
convenient locations.
City Guide
Kitchen Witchin'
Featuring recipes from the
"Kitchen Witchin'" column
Kitchen Witchin'
$10.00 + tax



Read complete details of these stories and other news
in the latest edition of The Odessan.
Groundbreaking at Bank of Odessa... Officers and other officials at the Bank of Odessa participated in a groundbreaking ceremony July 24 for a new addition to the present bank. Seven offices will be included in the expansion. From left, Dan Cobb, bank president, Robert Walsh, president of the bank holding company, Jim Pollard, director with the holding company, Joe Pollard, executive vice president, Garrett Jones, assistant vice president, Sue Young, vice president, and Ken Coleman, cashier, vice president.

Economic Incentive Guide adopted
Board of Aldermen Monday night held open public hearings on two issues and passed measures that included adopting a revised economic incentive guide and allowing fishing at Lake Venita.
Wayne McNeel, 426 James Circle, spoke at the public hearing on altering city code to allow accessory structures in side yards on corner properties, rather than allow them to be no closer to the street than the house itself.
After clarifying the accessory structures in question are detached structures, rather than structures attached to the building, McNeel said he was in favor of the revision.
A first reading was approved on the ordinance revision. Second reading and adoption will be on the agenda at the August 11 meeting.
No one from the public spoke in a hearing on the closeout of a 2012 Community Development Block Grant project on wastewater inflow and infiltration (I&I) repair.
Freddie Wells, who does grant writing for the city, said the hearing was a review of the $500,000 grant and had Clark Thompson, city engineer, Larkin, Lamp, Rynearson, speak on the project. Read more in The Odessan.
Gail, Gary Cooper named
as PJ parade marshals
Gail and Gary Cooper, longtime civic and philanthropic leaders in the community, have been named as marshals for the Puddle Jumper Days parade to be held at 10 a.m. on Saturday.
The Coopers are moving in August to Omaha, Nebr., to be near their son, Ryan, his wife, Lisa, and four-month-old grandson, Henry.
Gail Cooper, known to hundreds of children as "Mrs. Cooper," operated a pre-school in the family home on Ninth Street Terrace before retirement in 1999.
Her influence and training endeared her to not only the students but also to their parents for her understanding and preparations for their children to enter the classroom.
She has asked that any of her former students or their parents who attend the Saturday morning parade give her a "shout-out." Read more in The Odessan.
Voters to decide Tuesday on races for four offices
Voters in Lafayette County will go to the polls Tuesday to decide on candidates for four local races, two on each ballot, Democrat and Republican.
Decision also must be made on five amendments to the Missouri Constitution.
Voters must ask for a specific ballot, Democrat, Republican, Libertarian or Constitution party. A ballot containing only the amendments may be requested.
On the Democratic ballot, two persons are challenging for prosecuting attorney, Kristen Ellis, current officeholder in that position, and Josh Taylor, Dover, former Saline County assistant prosecutor.
The winner will face Weldon W. "Chip" Perry, former prosecutor, who has no opponent in the Republican primary.
Two attorneys are vying for associate circuit judge, probate division. Terrence Messonnier, Odessa, will face Valoree Maycock, Lexington. Read more in The Odessan.
Ribbon cutting planned at City Hall
A ribbon-cutting ceremony and grand reopening will be held at 6:30 p.m. tonight (Thursday) at the Odessa City Hall, 125 S. Second St.
Weather Center
Odessa Heating/Cooling

© 2014 The Odessan. All rights reserved.